the living archive
the learning diaspora space

The online platform for the documentation, archiving and passing on knowledge from and for BIPoC communities.

What is The Living Archives?

The platform The Living Archives has three main foci:

  1. Documentation,
  2. archiving and
  3. passing on

 

of knowledge that has been created in BIPoC communities. At the same time, it is a learning platform to share, to complement and to pass on this knowledge within these communities.

The aim is to collect (lost and/or deleted) content and knowledge that is/was generated within BIPoC contexts and make it accessible to these communities. Current discourses and topics will be represented on the site. Historical references to narratives and knowledge (texts, oral history, images, etc.) will play a central role and related content to this will also be found on the site. In the course of 2021, the site will be continuously filled with new content generated collaboratively and within the framework of xart splitta’s work.

xart splitta understands The Living Archives as a “Resistant Knowledge Project” (Patricia Hill Collins). In this context archiving, documenting and sharing knowledge is understood as a decolonial act. The concept of the archive is redefined here with regard to its colonial, racist context of origin and used as a means of “counter-narrative”. The site will remain a work in progress and we look forward to collaborating with a wide range of actors from our communities in its further development.

If you have any questions, suggestions, comments or other feedback, please feel free to contact us at: contact@thelivingarchives.org.

You can download our flyer here.

We would like to express our sincere thanks to the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education) for the financial support that made this project possible. At this point, especially to Peggy Piesche for their guidance, important impulses and support in the initial phase of the project.

Peggy Piesche
Foto credits: Deborah Moses Sanks

On behalf of the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, it gives me great pleasure to wish the project “The Living Archives” all the best for its launch into the digital and analogue world.

When we ask ourselves who we are and how we want to live, we first consult our archives, which are alive and constantly with us. These are by no means dusty chambers of evidence, but collective knowledge that also and above all forms, informs and ultimately re-inspires itself through memories. When people ask themselves who they are and how they want to live, they are looking for reference points that reflect their collective life experience. That is why it is so important that spaces are designed that approach memory work from an intersectional perspective, make offers in accordance with our societal diversity and specifically direct these offers to BIPoC Communities. It is above all the civil society commitment of BIPoC NGOs and educational institutions like xart splitta that create such offers of intersectional political education.

The project “The Living Archives” not only re_centers what we understand by memory, it also shifts the focus and makes it possible for plural ways of collective histories to be told and remembered. The project hereby shows what collective BIPoC politics of memory can look like: polylogical, diasporically connected and movement-led. This is also a central concern for the bpb. Political education work forms an essential basis for the shaping of memory and politics and must nowadays be critical of racism and discrimination, diverse and intersectional. Otherwise, it will continue to re_produce exclusions. Projects like these literally create spaces where the collective stories of BIPoC communities can be told and passed on to younger generations. They challenge existing interpretive perspectives and thus also open up our societal narrative on the issues mentioned above. As the bpb, we support such work and want to be a partner for intersectional political education work that is critical of racism and discrimination.

Peggy Piesche

Head of the Department “Political Education and Plural Democracy” (Gera location), bpb

D.I.D – Diversity.Intersectionality.Decoloniality

the living archive
the learning diaspora space

Die online Plattform zur Dokumentation, Archivierung und Weitergabe von Wissen aus und für BIPoC Communities.

Was ist The Living Archives?

Die Plattform The Living Archives hat drei Schwerpunkte:

  1. Dokumentation,
  2. Archivierung und
  3. Weitergabe

 

von Wissen, welches in BIPoC Communities entstanden ist. Gleichzeitig ist dies ein Lernportal um dieses Wissen innerhalb dieser Communities zu teilen, zu ergänzen und weiterzugegeben.

Ziel ist es gebündelt (verlorene und/oder gelöschte) Inhalte und Wissen, das innerhalb von BIPoC Kontexten generiert wird/wurde, festzuhalten und für diese Communities zugänglich zu machen. Auf der Seite werden sich aktuelle Diskurse und Themen abbilden. Hierbei werden historische Rückbezüge auf Erzählungen und Wissen (Texte, Oral History, Bilder etc.) eine Zentrale Rolle spielen und entsprechende Inhalte in diesem Zusammenhang punktuell auch auf der Seite zu finden sein. Die Seite wird im Laufe 2021 stetig mit neuen Inhalten gefüllt, die kollaborativ und im Rahmen der Arbeit von xart splitta generiert werden.

xart splitta versteht The Living Archives als „Resistant Knowledge Project“ (Patricia Hill Collins – dt.: „Widerstands Wissensprojekt“). Archivierung, Dokumentation und das Teilen von Wissen wird in diesem Kontext als dekoloniale Handlung verstanden. Das Konzept des Archives wird hier in Hinblick auf den kolonialen, rassistischen Entstehungskontext neu- bzw. umdefiniert und als Mittel des „Gegenerzählens“ verwendet. Die Seite wird ein ständiges Work in Progress bleiben und wir freuen uns auf die Zusammenarbeit mit unterschiedlichsten Akteur*innen aus unseren Communities in der weiteren Gestaltung.

Wenn Ihr Fragen, Anregungen, Kommentare oder sonstiges Feedback habt, meldet euch gerne unter: contact@thelivingarchives.org.

Unseren Flyer findet ihr zum download hier.

Wir möchten uns ganz herzlich bei der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung für die finanzielle Unterstützung, die dieses Projekt ermöglicht hat, bedanken. An dieser Stelle insbesondere bei Peggy Piesche für die Begleitung, die wichtigen Impulse und die Unterstützung in der Anfangsphase des Projektes.

Peggy Piesche
Foto credits: Deborah Moses Sanks

Es ist mir eine große Freude im Namen der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung dem Projekt “The Living Archives” zum Start in die digitale wie analoge Welt alles Gute zu wünschen. 

Wenn wir uns fragen, wer wir sind und wie wir leben wollen, befragen wir zuerst unsere Archive, die lebendig und beständig mit uns sind. Diese sind keineswegs verstaubte Asservatenkammern, sondern ein kollektives Wissen, dass sich auch und vor allem durch Erinnerungen bildet, informiert und schließlich neu inspiriert. Wenn Menschen (sich) danach be/fragen, wer sie sind und wie sie leben wollen, suchen sie nach Ansprachen, die ihre kollektive Lebenserfahrung wiederspiegelt. Darum ist es so wichtig, dass Orte gestaltet werden, die Erinnerungsarbeit so ausrichtet, dass sie intersektional und unserer gesellschaftlichen Diversität entsprechend Angebote gerade auch an BPOC Communities machen. Es ist vor allem das zivilgesellschaftliche Engagement von BPOC-NGOs und Bildungsträger*innen wie xart splitta, die so intersektionale politische Bildungsangebote schaffen. 

Das Projekt „The Living Archives“ re_zentriert nicht nur das, was wir unter Erinnerung verstehen, es nimmt auch eine Fokusverschiebung vor und macht es möglich, dass plurale Wege kollektiver Geschichten erzählt und erinnert werden können. Damit zeigt das Projekt, wie eine kollektive BPOC-Erinnerungsgestaltung aussehen kann: polylogisch, diasporisch verbunden und bewegungsgeleitet. Dies ist auch für die bpb zentrales Anliegen. Politische Bildungsarbeit bildet eine wesentliche Grundlage für Erinnerungsgestaltung und -politik und muss heute rassismus- und diskriminierungskritisch, divers und intersektional sein. Sonst wird sie wieder und weiter Ausschlüsse zu re_produzieren. Projekte wie diese schaffen buchstäblich Räume, in denen die kollektiven Geschichten von BPOC-Communities erzählt und an junge Generationen weitergegeben werden können. Sie hinterfragen bestehende Deutungsperspektiven und öffnen so auch unsere gesellschaftliches Narrativ zu den oben genannten Fragen. Als bpb unterstützen wir solche Arbeit und wollen Partner*in sein für eine rassismus- und diskriminierungskritische, intersektionale politische Bildungsarbeit.

Peggy Piesche, bpb

D.I.D – Diversität.Intersektionalität.Dekolonialität